Office of the Provost

School of Law Dean Search

Following the announcement that Dr. William M. Carter Jr. will step down as Dean of the School of Law, the University of Pittsburgh is conducting a search for a new Dean. All interested parties are invited to review the information below. Additional information about the search will be provided as it is available.

Search Committee:

Arjang Assad (Chair) 
Henry E. Haller Jr. Dean, Joseph M. Katz Graduate School of Business and College of Business Administration

Ronald Brand
Mark A. Nordenberg University Professor, School of Law

Ben Bratman
Professor of Legal Writing

Mary Crossley
Professor of Law

Vivian Curran
Distinguished Professor of Law

Dawne Hickton
University of Pittsburgh Board of Trustees

Susanna M. Leers
eResearch & Technology Services Librarian, School of Law

Grant B. MacIntyre
Director, Pitt Environmental Law Clinic

Kareemah Mayer
President, Student Bar Association

Rochelle R. McCain
Director, Externships, Public Interest & Government Relations, School of Law

Sheila Velez Martinez
Jack and Lovell Olender Professor of Asylum Refugee and Immigration Law

Open Forum:

The committee will hold an open forum meeting to allow members of the Pitt community to provide input into the search process. The open forum will take place on Friday, September 29, beginning at 11:00 a.m. in 111 Barco Law Building.

Community Survey:

The committee invites Pitt community members and friends to share thoughts and feedback regarding the next Dean through a Community Survey.